Home News 2024 Theia Nominations Are Open!

2024 Theia Nominations Are Open!

logo for the theia awards of excellence as 2023 nominations openCLICK HERE to nominate your colleagues for the 2024 Theia Awards of Excellence, the ninth year that this awards recognition has been given.


The awards will be presented during the American Academy of Optometry meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana. More details to come soon.

Each of the award categories open for nominations is named for a trailblazing woman optometrist. The Industry Influence category is open to women ODs as well as women who are not optometrists.

Theia Awards winners will be chosen based in the following categories:

  • Leadership: organizational or community leadership or advocacy
  • Mentoring: active role in guiding others in practice management and more beyond optometry school
  • Innovation: outreach, marketing, practice models, inventions, etc.
  • Education: inspirational, motivational educator
  • Young OD: an OD within 10 years of graduation who shows any/all of the above qualities
  • Industry Influencer: open to women ODs and non-ODs who are influencing the future of the profession in their industry roles or affiliations
  • Business: a doctor who shows remarkable acumen in business success

Nominations close on May 1.  You may nominate one or multiple people here.


Women In Optometry/WO Magazine


Women In Optometry




Top row (l-r): Dr. Naheed Ahmad, Dr. Carol Alexander, Dr. Michele Andrews, Dr. Bita Asghari, Dr. Roya Attar, Dr. Melissa Bailey, Dr. Cynthia Baker

2nd row (l-r): Dr. Melissa Barnett, Dr. Etty Bitton, Dr. Sandra Block, Dr. Laurie Capogna, Dr. Dori Carlson, Dr. Caroline Guerrero Cauchi, Dr. Linda Chous

3rd row (l-r): Dr. Ray Corbin-Simon, Dr. Susan Cotter, Dr. Jennifer Coyle, Dr. Debby Feinberg, Dr. Anna Marie Fernandez, Dr. Neda Gioia, Dr. Kate Hamm

4th row (l-r): Dr. Whitney Hauser, Dr. Essence Johnson, Dr. Lauretta Justin, Dr. Millicent Knight, Dr. Shira Kresch, Dr. Pamela Lowe, Dr. Stacy Lyons

5th row (l-r): Dr. Selina McGee, Dr. Breanne McGhee, Dr. Joan Miller, Dr. Leslie O’Dell, Dr. Minal Patel, Dr. Barbara Pelletier, Dr. Nicole Quinn

6th row (l-r): Dr. Jessilin Quint, Dr. Sherrol Reynolds, Dr. Glenda Secor, Dr. Julie Schornack, Dr. Bridgitte Shen Lee, Dr. Christine Sindt, Dr. Laurie Sorrenson

7th row (l-r): Dr. Belinda Starkey, Dr. Jennifer Stewart, Dr. Andrea Thau, Dr. Thuy Tran, Ukti Vora, Dr. Stephanie Woo, Dr. Rachael Wruble

8th row (l-r): Dr. Meng Meng Xu, Dr. Karla Zadnik, Dr. Deborah Zelinaski, Dr. Jennifer Smith Zolman


Read more news from WO here.

Read more newsmaker stories from WO here.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Dr. Caitlin Reghetti: Supporting Patient Education With a Great Design

On her LinkedIn page, Caitlin Reghetti, OD, calls herself an ocular health literacy designer. It's a specialized role that brings together her interests in...

WO Board Perspectives: How to Stay Organized

In a world where we all wear many hats-- doctor, parent, spouse, child, friend, mentor and more-- staying organized can feel nearly impossible. The...

Advocates for Optometry on Capitol Hill

More than 500 optometrists and students gathered for the American Optometric Association’s AOA on the Hill on April 15 and 16 to advocate for...

Myopia Awareness Week 2024 Website Launches

Myopia Awareness Week 2024 is set for May 13-19, and Review of Myopia Management and BHVI have officially launched the website for the week-long...