Home Newsmakers Leaders Women in the News - November

Women in the News – November

Photo credit: Tara Winstead, Pexels

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities. Have you stepped into a new leadership role or recently won an award? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.


American Academy of Optometry (AAO) and the American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF)

Ann E. Elsner, PhD, FAAO, was awarded the Charles F. Prentice Medal Award by AAO.
Loretta B. Szczotka-Flynn, OD, PhD, FAAO, was awarded the Carel C. Koch Medal by AAO.
Sherry J. Bass, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, was awarded the Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award by AAO for “Myopia Control: Why Each Diopter Matters.”
Joan M. Exford, OD, FAAO, was awarded the Life Fellowship Award by AAO.
Robin L. Chalmers, OD, FAAO, was awarded the Max Schapero Lecture Award by AAO.
Sandra Block, OD, MEd, MPH, FAAO, was awarded the Henry B. Peters Award by AAOF.


Also awarded: James S. Wolffsohn, BSc, MBA, PhD, FAAO, Glenn A. Fry Lecture Award/AAOF; Jack Phu, OD, PhD, FAAO, Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award/AAO; Sajeesh Kumar, PhD, FAAO, FAMIA, American Academy of Optometry – Essilor Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Optometry/AAO; Jerry Cavallerano, OD, PhD, FAAO, William Feinbloom Award/AAO; Hector C. Santiago, OD, PhD, FAAO, Brien Holden Humanitarian Award/AAO; Joseph C. Lehman, OD, MS, The Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics/AAOF; Mark A. Bullimore, MCOptom, PhD, FAAO and Noel A. Brennan, MScOptom, PhD, FAAO, Optometry and Vision Science. 96(6):463-465, June 2019, Garland W. Clay Award/AAO; Jason S. Ng, OD, PhD, FAAO, Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education/AAOF; Herbert Wertheim, OD, DSc, MD, Honorary Fellowship Award/AAO; Chris A. Johnson, PhD, DSc, FAAO, Life Fellowship Award/AAO; Joseph P. Shovlin, OD, FAAO, Tony Adams Eminent Service Award/AAO; William D. Carter, Founders’ Award/AAO


Brittany Beers, OD, of Appleton, was honored as the Young OD of the Year by the Wisconsin Optometric Association.


michele andrews featured 2020 Michele Andrews, OD, Vice President, Professional and Government Affairs, Americas, CooperVision, was the recipient of the 2022 Illinois College of Optometry (ICO) Alumni Association Alumnus of the Year Award.


Lynette K. Johns, OD, FAAO, FSLS, FBLA, has been appointed to the position of director of clinical and scientific affairs for Visionary Optics.


Emily Eisenhower-Baxter, OD, of Newport, was installed as president of the Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians. 


Krystal Matson, OD, of Warrensburg, was honored as the 2022 Missouri Young Optometrist of the Year. 


Valencia Wells, OD, was named Young Alumnus of the Year by the University of Alabama Birmingham School of Optometry (UABSO).
Janene Sims, OD, PhD, of UABSO was honored as Alabama Optometric Association Educator of the Year. 


Minnesota Optometric Assocation

Winners (l-r): Dani Murdoff, Dr. Axelson, Dr. Leska and Dr. Lepinski
Bridget Axelson, OD, of Coon Rapids, was honored as OD of the Year, while recongition for Distinguished OD of the Year went to Chris Leska, OD, of Kasson. Miranda Lipinski, OD, of Monticello, was honored as Young OD of the Year. Dani Murdoff of InVision Eye Care in Fergus Falls was named Paraoptometric of the Year.


Janet Leasher, OD, MPH, FAAO, FNAP, was honored as Optometry Professor of the Year at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry. 


Illinois Optometric Assocation Winners

Amanda Gerson, OD, of Jacksonville, was named Illinois Young Optometrist of the Year.
Stephanie Johnson-Brown, OD, MEd, of Chicago, was honored as Keyperson of the Year.


Andrea Thau, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, FNAP, of New York, New York, was honored with the Distinguished ServiceAward from the Vision Care Section of the American Publich Health Association.


Megan Molony, senior vice president, chief merchandising and damaged care officer at National Vision Inc, has been named the recipient of 2023 Prevent Blindness Person of Vision Award. She will be presented the award at the Prevent Blindness Person of Vision event in March 2023. 


  Lauren Bianchi, director, Global Quality & Compliance at Marchon Eyewear, has been elected as the vice chair of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Z80 Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) for Ophthalmic Optics.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

OD Stress Levels Nearly as High as Start of Pandemic

Eye care professionals report that their stress levels today are nearly as high as they were when Women In Optometry asked this question at...

Meet the Student Advisory Board: Paige Wagar, UWO

Paige Wagar has always been disciplined. Wagar competed in ballet, jazz, tap, contemporary and musical theater starting when she was four. Finding that it...

How to Let an Employee Go Without Endangering Your Practice

By Bj Avery, Vice President of Practice Compliance Solutions In our compliance company, which specializes in human resource management, employee termination is a weekly issue...

Dr. Sara Varghai: Cracking the Hiring Code

Getting the right staff fit is a challenge for many optometrists. When Sara Varghai, OD, of Arlington, Virginia, opened Nova Optique + Eyecare almost...