Home Newsmakers Leaders Women in the News - February 2024

Women in the News – February 2024

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the awards and accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities in the “Women in the News” series. Have you received an award or acknowledgement for your contributions to optometry or your community? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

Congratulations to all honorees.

Renee Reeder, OD, FAAO, FBCLA, FSLS, FIACLE, FNAP, became Dean of the Kentucky College of Optometry at the University of Pikeville.

Read the full story from WO here.


Ranju Welch, OD, joined Synchrony Healthcare Communications as a Medical Editor.


Dawn Williams, OD, of Garden City, Kansas, became the president of the Heart of American Eye Care Congress at its meeting in February.


Lynda Jones, OD, of Torrington, Wyoming, was named the WOA Optometrist of the Year – 2023.


Kelly K. Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, FAAO, was named the Treasurer of the National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR) and Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR) Boards at UAB School of Optometry.


Samantha Slotnick, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, was inducted into the Prestigious Marquis Who’s Who Biographical Registry.


Melissa Barnett, OD, was named Practitioner of the Year by the Scleral Lens Education Society.


Leslie O’Dell, OD, FAAO, joined Tarsus Pharmaceuticals, Inc., as an Associate Director – Medical Affairs National Educator.


Jennifer Schad, OD, joined the Michigan College of Optometry as the Assistant Dean for Clinical Education and Outreach.


Carol Lin, OD, was awarded a four-year K08 Mentored Clinical Scientist Career Development Investigator Award from the National Institute of Health (NIH).


California Optometric Association Meeting 2023 Award Winners

Named Feb. 2024

Rachelle Lin, OD, MS, FAAO, Excellence in Optometric Education
Janine Nguyen, George I. Deane award
Tameen Ahmed, George I. Deane award
San Diego County Optometric Society, Society of the Year, Society Project of the Year and Society Website of the Year

Dr. Celia Gong

Dr. Stacy Hu

Dr. Britney Kitamata-Wong

Dr. Christine Yoo
Young OD of the Year: Celia Gong, OD, MS, FAAO, FSLS; Stacy Hu, OD, MS, FAAO; Britney Kitamata-Wong, OD; Britney Kitamata-Wong; and Christine Yoo, OD.
Julie Schornack, OD, mEd, OD of the Year

Dr. Rachelle Lin

Dr. Mika Moy

Dr. Heidi Miller

Dr. Tamami Candi Kimura
Secretary Treasurer: Rachelle Lin, OD, MS, FAAO

Trustee 2024: Mika Moy, OD, FAAO; Heidi Miller, OD, FAAO, FSLS; and Tamami Candi Kimura, OD (immediate past president)

Also named: Dr. Christopher Gee, President; Dr. Brian Park, President-elect; Trustees: Dr. David Ardaya, Dr. Christopher Fisher, Dr. Munish Sharma and Dr. Henry Hua.

Susan O’Farrell joined the National Vision board of directors and audit committee.


Lauren Schneider, a PhD student in the vision science graduate program at The Ohio State University College of Optometry, was selected as the 2024 recipient of the Arene T. Wray Fellowship.


Molly Vang, a second-year optometry student at UC Berkeley School of Optometry, won the Berkeley Student Innovator Award.


Anne Cooper, MA, CMPP, joined Jobson Optical Group as the Editorial Director of Jobson’s 20/20 and Vision Monday groups.



Women in the News – January 2024 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News – December 2023 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News – November 2023 | Women In Optometry


To view more newsmaker stories from WOclick here.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Dr. Caitlin Reghetti: Supporting Patient Education With a Great Design

On her LinkedIn page, Caitlin Reghetti, OD, calls herself an ocular health literacy designer. It's a specialized role that brings together her interests in...

WO Board Perspectives: How to Stay Organized

In a world where we all wear many hats-- doctor, parent, spouse, child, friend, mentor and more-- staying organized can feel nearly impossible. The...

Advocates for Optometry on Capitol Hill

More than 500 optometrists and students gathered for the American Optometric Association’s AOA on the Hill on April 15 and 16 to advocate for...

Myopia Awareness Week 2024 Website Launches

Myopia Awareness Week 2024 is set for May 13-19, and Review of Myopia Management and BHVI have officially launched the website for the week-long...