Home Newsmakers Women In The News - June

Women In The News – June

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities. Have you stepped into a new leadership role or recently won an award? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

Dr. Keshia Elder OD, MS, FAAO, was named the first Black female dean of College of Optometry at the University of Missouri–St. Louis.

She previously held the role of diversity, equity and inclusion director and director of externships at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry.


Amber Dunn, OD, received the AOA Media Advocacy Award. amber dunn


Jacqueline Theis, OD, FAAO, of Richmond, Virginia, became chief medical officer at C Light Technologies.


Optometry Divas

At its 2022 Educational Retreat in Orlando, Florida, in June, Optometry Divas presented these annual awards.

Lisa Hornick, OD, of Sacramento, California was named Thought Leader of the Year.
Ambassador of the Year was awarded to Kristie Nguyen, OD, and Samantha Love, OD, both of Orlando, Florida.

Kristie Nguyen, OD

Samantha Love, OD
Elite Diva of the Year was awarded to Farhana Yunnus, OD, of Orlando, Florida
The CEO Of You Scholarship was awarded to Alexis Meyer, Berkley School of Optometry.


American Optometric Association

2022 Board of Delegates of the American Optometric Association (l-r): Belinda R. Starkey, OD, Trustee, Arkansas; Teri K. Geist, OD, Trustee, Nebraska; Terri A. Gossard, OD, MS, Trustee, Ohio; Ronald L. Benner, OD, President-elect, Montana; James P. DeVleming, OD, President, Washington; Robert C. Layman, OD, Immediate Past President, Ohio; Steven T. Reed, OD, Vice President, Mississippi; Jacqueline M. Bowen, OD, Secretary-Treasurer, Colorado; Curtis A. Ono, OD, Trustee, Washington; Marrie S. Reed, OD, MBA, Trustee, Armed Forces Optometric Society; Paul M. Barney, OD, Trustee, Alaska

The American Optometric Association presented its annual awards at the Optometry’s Meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

Capt. Dawn Clary, OD, of the Public Health Service/Indian Health Service was honored with the Distinguished Service Award. 

Jeffrey Michaels, OD, of Richmond, Virginia was recognized as Optometrist of the Year.

Saysha Blazier, OD, of Staten Island, New York was honored as Young Optometrist of the Year.

Andrew Kemp, OD, of Fort Worth, Texas was awarded the Optometric Educator Award.
Araba Otoo, MPH, of Columbus, Ohio won the Student of the Year Award.
Loretta Eriks, CPOT, of Griffith, Indiana was named Paraoptometric of the Year Award.
Shantia Hinderlider, CPO, of Bend, Oregon won the Paraoptometric Community Service Award.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Lean Into Your Optometric Passion

For the years that Jennifer Palombi, OD, FAAO was in clinical practice, she also established and pursued a business in medical writing. “I enjoyed...

OD Stress Levels Nearly as High as Start of Pandemic

Eye care professionals report that their stress levels today are nearly as high as they were when Women In Optometry asked this question at...

Meet the Student Advisory Board: Paige Wagar, UWO

Paige Wagar has always been disciplined. Wagar competed in ballet, jazz, tap, contemporary and musical theater starting when she was four. Finding that it...

How to Let an Employee Go Without Endangering Your Practice

By Bj Avery, Vice President of Practice Compliance Solutions In our compliance company, which specializes in human resource management, employee termination is a weekly issue...